Tax Reform Series: Changes to Federal Income Tax Brackets

The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (TCJA) is now officially law. We at The Center have written a series of blogs addressing some of the most notable changes resulting from this new legislation. Our goal is to be a resource to help you understand these changes and interpret how they may affect your own financial and tax planning efforts.

The TCJA brings many changes to both corporate and individual tax laws in 2018.  You may be asking yourself, “what do these changes mean for me?” A good place to start may be with the new personal income tax brackets.

How tax brackets work

When calculating our Federal tax liability on regular income, we apply a tax rate schedule to our taxable income. The taxable income is a filer’s income after any adjustments and exclusions (adjusted gross income) and after subtracting applicable deductions and exemptions. Specific rates are then charged on different ranges of income (tax brackets) as determined by tax filing status. Currently, in 2017 there are 7 brackets where the rates are 10%, 15%, 25%, 28%, 33%, 35%, and 39.6%. The tax bracket structures and how the taxes would be assessed for two of the most common filings statuses (single and married filing joint returns) are as follows:

Current 2017 Individual & Married Tax Brackets

Subscribe to Our Newsletter for Discounts, Promotions & Latest News

Leave a Reply

one × 5 =